Harry Potter

Harry Potter And The List Of Movies

Harry Potter movies

The Harry Potter movies were a staple of many childhoods. In 2001 and competing with Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring came Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Sorcerer’s Stone in the United States), starting a chain reaction that would last well into the 2020s.

From 2001 to 2011, eight Harry Potter movies were released, while the late 2010s and early 2020s had three prequel films based on Newt Scamander’s adventures in the 1920s were released with three films.

This post will review the 11 films that have come out within the Wizarding World film franchise.

Harry Potter Movies

  • Philosopher’s Stone/Sorcerer’s Stone (2001) – 11-year-old Harry Potter learns he’s a wizard.
  • Chamber of Secrets (2002) – Harry is warned not to return to Hogwarts for his second year.
  • Prisoner of Azkaban (2004) – When Sirius Black, the man accused of betraying Harry’s parents, James and Lily, escapes Azkaban prison, the Wizarding World is put on high alert.
  • Goblet of Fire (2005) – After Lord Voldemort’s supporters disrupt the Quidditch World Cup, the wizarding world is again on high alert. But when tragedy strikes during the final event of the TriWizard Tournament, Voldemort arises, causing terror to spark.
  • Order of the Phoenix (2007) – With Voldemort back, the Ministry of Magic turns its back on the truth. They accuse Harry and Dumbledore of lying. Harry, Ron and Hermione start Dumbledore’s Army, tired of the manipulation.
  • Half-Blood Prince (2009) – Harry’s sixth year begins with him struggling with the death of his godfather, Sirius. Moreover, he is now the captain of the Gryffindor Quidditch Team. However, tragedy again strikes during the quest to find Voldemort’s Horcruxes when Snape kills Dumbledore.
  • Deathly Hallows: Part One (2010) – Harry says goodbye to the Dursleys and becomes friendly with Dudley. Hedwig, Harry’s beloved owl companion, is killed in the escape from Privett Drive, and so is Mad-Eye Moody. Harry attends Bill Weasley’s wedding to Fleur Delacour and is forced to escape with Ron and Hermione. Dobby, the House Elf, is later killed by Bellatrix Lestrange.
  • Deathly Hallows: Part Two (2011) – Harry, Ron and Hermione return to Hogwarts for one final fight with Voldemort. 19 years later, the trio are parents to five children. Harry is married to Ron’s sister, Ginny, and they have three children; James, Albus and Lily. Ron and Hermione are also married with a daughter and a son, Rose and Hugo.

Fantastic Beasts

Set in the 1920s, the Fantastic Beasts films focus on Magizoologist Newt Scamander.

  • Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them (2016) – Newt Scamander arrives in America and is forced into an allegiance with the Goldstein sisters, Tina and Queenie and the No-Maj, Jacob, against the dark wizard Grindelwald.
  • Crimes Of Grindelwald (2018) – Newt reunites with his longtime love, Leta Lestrange, who is now engaged to his brother, Theseus. Meanwhile, Dumbledore becomes involved with the story.
  • The Secrets Of Dumbledore (2022) – More of Dumbledore’s story with Grindelwald comes to light while Newt and Theseus struggle in the wake of Leta’s death. Also, Albus’ brother, Aberforth, reveals he has a son.
(Visited 652 times, 1 visits today)

About Author

C.J. Hawkings has written for the now-defunct Entertainment website, Movie Pilot and the still functioning WhatCulture and ScreenRant. She prides herself as a truth seeker and will do (almost) anything for coffee or Coke No Sugar. Oh! And food!

Discover more from Project Fangirl

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading